Wall Street Journal, Times Higher Education Rankings Laud K

Wall Street Journal Rankings
An engaging and diverse faculty provides Kalamazoo College students
with an experience important in the Wall Street Journal/Times
Higher Education rankings of the top U.S. colleges and universities.

Another analysis has placed Kalamazoo College as the top-ranked private higher education institution in Michigan as the U.S. Wall Street Journal/Times Higher Education 2022 College Rankings list was released this week.

The report places K among the top 22 percent of the nation’s colleges and universities ranked overall with methodology that balances issues such as:

  • Resources, examining whether a college effectively delivers teaching through its finances, its student-to-faculty ratio and faculty research papers.
  • Engagement, as determined through the results of a Times Higher Education U.S. student survey, which scrutinizes each student’s engagement with their studies, their interaction with their teachers and their satisfaction with the college experience.
  • Outcomes, measuring each institution’s value, graduation rate and academic reputation.
  • Environment, including student, faculty and academic staff diversity, international populations and student inclusion.

 The full WSJ/THE list can be found at the Wall Street Journal website.

Princeton Review: Academics Place K Among Nation’s Best Colleges

Best 387 Colleges Book Cover
The Princeton Review cites Kalamazoo College’s
academics in naming the institution among
The Best 387 Colleges.”
Photo credit: The Princeton Review.

The Princeton Review is placing Kalamazoo College among the top 14 percent of institutions for degree-seeking undergraduates by featuring K in the education services company’s annual college guide, The Best 387 Colleges

The schools featured aren’t individually ranked. However, the publication praises K’s academics while giving faculty high marks—95 points on a 99-point scale—for student accessibility. 

“We salute Kalamazoo College for its outstanding academics and we are genuinely pleased to recommend it to prospective applicants searching for their ‘best-fit’ college,” said Rob Franek, the Princeton Review’s editor-in-chief and lead author of The Best 387 Colleges

The Princeton Review chooses colleges for the book, one of its most popular publications, based on data it annually collects from administrators about their institutions’ academic offerings, and its surveys of college students who rate and report on various aspects of their campus and community experiences. 

In those surveys, students credited faculty for presenting challenging information and working to achieve camaraderie with students. Students also said the K-Plan—the College’s personalized approach to education through a flexible, open curriculum featuring real-world experience, service learning, study abroad and an independent senior year project—allows them more time to explore exactly what they want to learn.  

In extra-curriculars, students said they can find their niche quickly in the small-school environment, allowing most to engage in work they care about.  

The Princeton Review’s school profiles are posted on its website, where they can be searched for free. The book is the 30th annual edition and is available for purchase online