Board of Trustees

The Kalamazoo College Board of Trustees is composed of 34 members including the president. The Board, which represents the major sectors of society, is national in composition and has strong representation from the Kalamazoo community and from alumni. Additionally, 25 individuals hold the status of Emeriti Trustee. The President and Vice President of the Alumni Association Executive Board may serve as ex-officio members of the Board.

Officers of the Board

S. Si Johnson, Chair
James A. Clayton, Vice Chair
Hans P. Morefield, Treasurer
Catherine Bonnes, Interim Assistant Treasurer
Amy S. Courter, Secretary
Melanie K. Williams, Assistant Secretary

Members of the Board of Trustees

Hashem Akhavan-Tafti ’82, President, AhuraTech, LLC, Howell, MI
Judith L. Bollinger, ’77, CEO, Judico Capital Pte. Ltd., Singapore
Martha Campbell ’72, Retired, U.S. Ambassador to the Republic of the Marshall Islands, Venice, FL
Jody L. Clark, ’80, Senior Vice President Development, Leasing, Realterm, Annapolis, MD
James A. Clayton ’78, Retired, Senior Managing Director, GE Capital, New Canaan, CT
Amy S. Courter ’83, Principal, Azimuth Centers of Excellence, Kalamazoo, MI
Jonathan R. Cunningham ’84, Principal and Founder, Aequitas Advisors, LLC, Stamford, CT
Helen B. Etkin  ’76, Partner, Etkin & Co., Walled Lake, MI
Gwen A. Fountain ’68, Retired, Director of Investment Management, Children’s Museum of Indianapolis, Bonita Springs, FL
Mark G. Ghafari ’14, Financial Advisor, Merrill Lynch, Grand Rapids, MI
Jorge G. Gonzalez, President, Kalamazoo College, Kalamazoo, MI
Donald L. Hafner ’66, Retired, Vice Provost, Undergraduate Academic Affairs, Boston College, Belmont, MA
Charlotte H. Hall ’66, Retired, Senior Vice President and Editor, The Orlando Sentinel, Newtown Square, PA
Kelsey M. Hassevoort ’12, Research Development Specialist, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, Urbana, IL
James N. Heath ’78, Founder and Principal of 3L Coaching, LLC, Richland, MI
Edwin R. Hortelano ’83, Vice President, Materials R&D 3D Systems, Rock Hill, SC
S. Si Johnson ’78, Retired, Group President, Stryker MedSurg Group, Richland, MI
John H. Kittredge, Retired, Partner Fabri-Kal Corporation, Richland, MI
Teresa L. Kline ’80, Retired, President and CEO, EVP, Henry Ford Health System, Health Alliance Plan, Birmingham, MI
Christopher U. Light ’89, Dow Chemical Finance Leader, Midland MI
Alexander C. Lipsey  ’72, Circuit Judge, Kalamazoo County, Kalamazoo, MI
Asia L. Morales, ’15, MBA Candidate, University of Southern California, Los Angeles, CA
Hans P. Morefield ’92, CEO, CHESS Health, Rochester, NY
Donald R. Parfet H’13, Managing Director, Apjohn Group, LLC, Kalamazoo, MI
Gail A. Raiman ’73, Retired Consultant, Raiman Consulting, LLC, Arlington, VA
Christopher P. Reynolds ’83, Chief Administrative Officer – Manufacturing and Corporate Resources, Toyota Motor North American; Deputy Chief Officer, General Administration and Human Resources Group, Toyota Motor Corporation
Mary Beth Sarhatt, Community Volunteer, Kalamazoo, MI
William R. Stoeri  ‘78, Managing Partner, Dorsey & Whitney LLP, Minneapolis, MN
Jon L. Stryker ’82, President and Founder, Arcus Foundation, New York, NY
Bonnie Wachter Swenby ’69, Retired, Dentist, Oxboro Dental Care, Bloomington, MN
Amy E. Upjohn, Community Volunteer, Richland, MI
M. Elizabeth Washington ’94, Vice President, Community Health, Equity and Inclusion, Kalamazoo, MI
Richard E. Yehle ’68, Retired, Contracts Manager, Allied Wood Group Engineering, Houston, TX
Debra L. Yourick ’80, Director, Science Education and Strategic Communications, Walter Reed Army Institute of Research, Silver Spring, MD

Emeriti Trustees

John W. Brown H’03, Portage, Michigan, served 1980–95
Rosemary K. Brown, Portage, Michigan, served 1998-2009
Roger E. Brownell ’68, Fort Myers, Florida, served 1993-2016
Lawrence D. Bryan, Martinsville, Indiana, served 1990–96
Phillip C. Carra ’69, Fennville, Michigan, served 1990-2008
Joyce K. Coleman ’66, Dallas, Texas, served 1990-2008
Harold J. Decker, Kalamazoo, Michigan, served 2010-2019
James H. Duncan, Sante Fe, New Mexico, served 1985–96
Marlene C. Francis ’58, Ann Arbor, Michigan, served 1980–1998
Harry T. Garland ’68, Los Altos, California, served 1987-2005
Alfred J. Gemrich ’60, Delton, Michigan, served 1975–93
Otha Gilyard H’01, Columbus, Ohio, served 1979–97
James F. Jones, Jr. H’04, Atlanta, Georgia, served 1996-2004
Robert P. Kittredge, Kalamazoo, Michigan, served 1975–93
Robert. O. Kramer, Bloomfield Hills, Michigan, served 2008-2015
Thomas W. Lambert ’63, Kalamazoo, Michigan, served 1986-2004
William E. LaMothe, Battle Creek, Michigan, served 1976–85 and 1988–90
E. Turner Lewis ’63, Brattleboro,Vermont, served 1991-2009
Elizabeth Upjohn Mason H’93, Kalamazoo, Michigan, served 1973–91
Mary M. McLean ’61, Portage, Michigan, served 1990-2008
Preston S. Parish H’97, Kalamazoo, Michigan, served 1985–98
William C. Richardson, Richland, Michigan, served 1997-2015
James A. Robideau, Van Wert, Ohio, served 1995-2019
Ronda E. Stryker, Richland, Michigan, served 1988–2017
Alan E. Schwartz, Detroit, Michigan, served 1969–72
Ralph G. Wellington, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, served 1991-1996, 2000-2005