Board of Trustees

2015-2016 Officers of the Board

Charlotte H. Hall, Chair
James A. Clayton, Vice Chair
S. Si Johnson, Vice Chair
Eugene V. N. Bissell, Treasurer
James E. Prince, Assistant Treasurer
Amy S. Courter, Secretary
Melanie K. Williams, Assistant Secretary

Members of the Board

Hashem Akhavan-Tafti '82, President /Chief Science Officer, AhuraTech LLC, Howell, MI
Alexandra Altman ’97, Chicago, Illinois
Eugene V. N. Bissell '76, Former President and CEO AmeriGas Propane, Gladwyne, Pennsylvania
Roger E. Brownell ’68, President, Golf and Electric Vehicles, Inc., Fort Myers, Florida
Jody Clark '80, Vice President, Hannon Armstrong, Annapolis, Maryland
James A. Clayton ’78, Senior Managing Director, General Electric Capital, Norwalk, Connecticut
Jevon A. Caldwell-Gross ’04, Pastor, St. Marks United Methodist Church, Montclair, New Jersey
Erin M. P. Charnley ’02, Dentist, Blue Water Dentistry, Holland, Michigan
Amy S. Courter ’83, Senior Vice President, Youngsoft, Inc., Wixom, Michigan 
Harold J. Decker ’67, Of Council, Miller, Canfield, Paddock and Stone, P.L.C. Las Cruces, New Mexico
Helen B. Etkin ’76, Partner, Etkin and Company, Walled Lake, Michigan
Gwen A. Fountain ’68, Former Director of Investment Mangement, Indianapolis Children's Museum, Bonita Springs, Florida
Charlotte H. Hall ’66, Former Senior Vice President and Editor, Orlando Sentinel, Newtown Square, Pennsylvania
James N. Heath '78, Former President, Stryker Instruments, Kalamazoo, Michigan
S. Si Johnson '78, Former Group President, Stryker MedSurg Group, Richland, Michigan
Robert O. Kramer, Former Vice President for Human Resources, Ford Company, Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Paul S. Levy '82, Cardiothoracic and Vascular Surgeon, NEA Baptist Hospital and Clinic, Jonesboro, Arkansas
Alexander C. Lipsey
’72, Circuit Judge, Kalamazoo County Circuit Court, Kalamazoo, Michigan
Erin Mazzoni '07,
Hans P. Morefield ’92, Katonah, New York
Jody K. Olsen, Former Deputy Director, Peace Corps, Washington, D.C.
Donald R. Parfet, Managing Director, Apjohn Group, LLC, Kalamazoo, Michigan
Gail A. Raiman ’73, President, Raiman Consulting, Arlington, Virginia
Christopher Reynolds '83, Group Vice President and General Counsel, Toyota Motor Sales, USA, Inc., Torrance, California
William C. Richardson, College Professor of Policy, Kalamazoo College, Kalamazoo, Michigan
James A. Robideau ’76, General Manager, Tecumseh Packaging Solutions, Inc., Van Wert, Ohio
Mary Beth Sarhatt, Kalamazoo, Michigan
William R. Stoeri ’78, Partner, Dorsey and Whitney, LLP, Minneapolis, Minnesota
Jon L. Stryker ’82, President and Founder, Arcus Foundation, Kalamazoo, Michigan
Ronda E. Stryker, Portage, Michigan
Bonnie Wachter Swenby ’69, Dentist, Oxboro Dental Care, Bloomington, Minnesota
Amy E. Upjohn, Richland, Michigan
William F. Williams ’71, Former Executive Vice President, BNY Mellon, New York, New York
Eileen B. Wilson-Oyelaran, President, Kalamazoo College, Kalamazoo, Michigan
Richard E. Yehle ’68, Former Contracts Manager, Alliance Wood Group Engineering, Houston, Texas
Debra L. Yourick ’80, Director, Science Education and Strategic Communications, Walter Reed Army Institute of Research, Silver Spring, Maryland

Emeriti Trustees

John W. Brown H’03, Portage, Michigan, served 1980–95
Rosemary K. Brown, Portage, Michigan, served 1998–2009
Lawrence D. Bryan, Martinsville, Indiana, served 1990–96
Phillip C. Carra ’69, Fennville, Michigan, served 1990–2008
Joyce K. Coleman ’66, Dallas, Texas, served 1990–2008
James H. Duncan, Sante Fe, New Mexico, served 1985–96
Marlene C. Francis ’58, Ann Arbor, Michigan, served 1980–1998
Harry T. Garland ’68, Los Altos, California, served 1987–2005
Alfred J. Gemrich ’60, Delton, Michigan, served 1975–93
Otha Gilyard H’01, Columbus, Ohio, served 1979–97
James F. Jones, Jr. H’04, served 1996–2004
Robert P. Kittredge, Kalamazoo, Michigan, served 1975–93
Thomas W. Lambert ’63, Kalamazoo, Michigan, served 1986–2004
William E. LaMothe, Battle Creek, Michigan, served 1976–85 and 1988–90
W. Price Laughlin, Atherton, California, served 1963–80
E. Turner Lewis ’63, Battleboro, Vermont, served 1991–2009
Elizabeth Upjohn Mason H’93, Kalamazoo, Michigan, served 1973–91
Mary M. McLean ’61, Portage, Michigan, served 1990–2008
James W. Morrell ’53, Atherton, California, served 1985–2000
Preston S. Parish H’97, Kalamazoo, Michigan, served 1985–98
Omer Robbins, Jr., Manchester, Michigan, served 1954–84
Alan E. Schwartz, Detroit, Michigan, served 1969–72