Farewells and Inaugurations

Student Commission annual awards recipients

Photo credit: Elaine Ezekiel ’13

By Elaine Ezekiel ’13

Student Commission presented its annual awards during the Week Ten (June 1) Community Reflection in Stetson Chapel. The annual event recognizes outstanding Kalamazoo College staff, students, and faculty, and passes the torch to the elected members of next year’s Student Commission.

Mike Ignagi ’12Tommy Jackson ’15Colin Smith ’15 and Brad Stech ’15 from K’s improvisational jazz class opened the ceremony. Lucas Kushner ’14 read a short history of the Student Commission Awards. Kari Paine ’14 presented the William Crockett Award for outstanding contribution to the community by an administrator or staff member to Mail Center Coordinator Carol CowperMara Richman ’15 presented the Francis Diebold Award, which acknowledges a faculty member who shows interest and participation in student life, to Associate Provost and Associate Professor of English Amy SmithDouglas Colton ’12 presented the Amy Trenkle Award, which goes to the student who exemplifies involvement and leadership on campus, to Ian Powell ’12.

President Eileen B. Wilson-Oyelaran celebrated the leadership of 2011-12 Student Commission President Meredith Quinlan ‘12.

“I, for one, am looking for an opportunity to vote for you as governor, and better still as president of the United States,” said Wilson-Oyelaran, “because you are the type of leader that our country needs.”

Quinlan offered a farewell address in which she imagined returning to campus as an alumna.

“No matter what,” she said, “the people at K will always keep it what it is.”

She then administered the oath of office to 2012-13 Student Commission Executive Committee members.

Incoming president Bianca Rasho ’13 outlined her strategy of “teamwork, efficiency, and transparency” for next year’s administration. Candido asked the audience to “go in peace,” for a final time this school year.

Photographed (l-r) are outgoing and incoming StuComm board members: back row—Doug Colton ’12, Ian Flanagan ’13, Tendai Mudyiwa ’14, Darrin Camilleri ’14, Daniel Pohanka ’14, Milo Madole ’12; middle row—Hagop Mouradian ’14, Cameron Goodall ’15, Lucas Kushner ’14, Jacob Morden ’13, Ellen Murphy ’12, Alex Werder ’15, Sam Keene ’13, Darwin Rodriguez ’13; front row—Mara Richman ’15, Kari Paine’14, Katherine Stevenson ’15, Meredith Quinlan ’12, Bianca Rasho ’13, Asia Morales ’15, Martin Bergstrom ’13, and Shadae Sutherland ’14.

Open to the public, Community Reflections offer a unique forum for discussion, worship, performance, and community expression in Stetson Chapel. The next Community Reflection will be held during Week One (Sept 14) of Fall Quarter at 10:50 AM.)