In 1958 the College acquired Humphrey House through a gift from Margaret Humphrey Windisch. It was first used to house male students, and then it was converted into faculty offices.
Currently the Religion, English, Philosophy and Classics departments are located in Humphrey House. The English major has both literature and writing emphasis. The writing classes have “Readings” to showcase student work at the end of the quarter. Humphrey House is mostly professors’ offices, but there are a few lounges where classes are held.